Shadowy and Satiny: What to Watch on TCM in February 2024

Looking for some good stuff to watch in February? TCM’s got you covered.

Satiny Pick: One Way Passage (1932)

I found the pre-Code pickings for February to be rather slim but, never fear, I picked a real winner. One Way Passage may not be overflowing with salacious scenes and gratuitous shots of ladies in their step-ins, but it’s a darn good movie.

They meet.

This feature stars William Powell and Kay Francis as Dan Hardesty and Joan Ames, who meet cute in a Hong Kong bar shortly before they both board a ship bound for America. But what Dan doesn’t know is that Joan is terminally ill, and what Joan doesn’t know is that Dan is a convicted killer on his way to the electric chair. Lucky for them both, Dan has a soft-hearted jailer (Warren Hymer), who gives him free rein on the ship (where’s he gonna go, after all?), which provides Dan and Joan with the perfect opportunity to fall in love – even while they both know that their days are numbered. Find out what happens on February 15th.

What else?

They fall in love.

One Way Passage was the last of six films starring Powell and Francis. The others were Behind the Makeup (1930), Street of Chance (1930), For the Defense (1930), Ladies’ Man (1931), and Jewel Robbery (1932).

Directed by Tay Garnett (who would later helm the 1946 noir, The Postman Always Rings Twice), the film was a critical and commercial hit. In fact, it was the most successful of the six Powell-Francis teamings. Reportedly, though, Powell wasn’t overly fond of the film.

The film was remade in 1940 as Till We Meet Again, starring Merle Oberon and George Brent. It was decidedly NOT a hit.

Shadowy Pick: Odd Man Out (1947)

I don’t know what took me so long to watch Odd Man Out (I think it’s because I had it confused with the 1957 sports movie, Fear Strikes Out, about baseball player Jimmy Piersall), but thank goodness I finally wised up, because this is a good one, y’all.

Rains considered this his best work. Me, too.

Set in Ireland, the film centers on escaped convict Johnny McQueen (James Mason), the leader of an underground organization which is not named but is undoubtedly meant to be the Irish Republican Army (IRA). Others in Johnny’s sphere include his most loyal comrade, Dennis (Robert Beatty), and Kathleen (Kathleen Ryan), the girl who loves him from afar (yet very near – she and her grandmother are allowing him to hide out in their house). The action kicks off when Johnny is shot after he and several of his associates commit a payroll robbery to secure funds for the group. And if that weren’t bad enough, Johnny becomes separated from his fellow conspirators, and spends the rest of the night struggling to avoid the police, encountering a series of peculiar characters, and trying to stay alive. Tune into TCM February 16th to see if he makes it.

What else?

The cinematography was top notch.

The film was helmed by acclaimed English director Carol Reed, who also directed The Fallen Idol (1948), The Third Man (1949), and Oliver! (1968). James Mason considered his performance in Odd Man Out as the best of his career, and he named Reed as his favorite director.

The group of children playing in the streets were real-life residents of Belfast’s St. Patrick’s School for Roman Catholic Boys.

Odd Man Out has no femme fatale. No flashbacks. No voiceover narration. And it takes place in Ireland. But its painterly use of shadows and light, conflicted anti-hero, and purveying sense of impending doom make it unmistakably noir.

————

Tune into TCM February 15th and 16th for these gems. You only owe it to yourself.

~ by shadowsandsatin on January 30, 2024.

13 Responses to “Shadowy and Satiny: What to Watch on TCM in February 2024”

  1. As always, thx so much for your recommendations, Karen. Got a couple for you – “Bolero” w/ George Raft & Carole Lombard (’34, before code was enforced) and early noir “Glass Key” w/ GR & Edward Arnold (’35 but w/pre-code feel). It’s interesting to compare this w/ ’42 remake. 🎬😎

    • Thank you for both of these, Cynthia! I’ve had Bolero in my collection for years (and years), but for some reason, I never made it very far. I will have to remedy that now. And I’m definitely interested in that original version of The Glass Key!

    • Hi Melanie, just saw your kind replies! Hope you enjoy watching both films…🎬😎

  2. These both sound like terrific films, especially One Way Passage. Thanks for these recommendations!

  3. One Way Passage may not be overflowing with salacious scenes and gratuitous shots of ladies in their step-ins, but it’s a darn good movie.” 

    What a great line!

    Whenever I read the word “step-ins” my mind immediately flashes to Joan Blondell in DAMES saying she hopped on a train and blew town with nothing but a coat and a pair of step-ins. 

    In her podcast on Francis, Karina Longworth described ONE WAY PASSAGE as brutally underseen, and I wholeheartedly second that emotion. It’s my favorite Francis/Powell pairing, and a top five Tay Garnett picture for me, along with CHINA SEAS, LOVE IS NEWS, STAND-IN, and, of course, POSTMAN.

    I know it’s Francis and Powell’s movie, but Aline MacMahon and Frank McHugh are just as a big an attraction in my book.  They’re aces as comic relief, but both performers act the hell out of quieter moments, like McHugh sitting at the bar by himself in the final moments of the film. The remake recently aired on TCM but I couldn’t get through it. Why mess with perfection?!

    “Odd Man Out has no femme fatale. No flashbacks. No voiceover narration. And it takes place in Ireland. But its painterly use of shadows and light, conflicted anti-hero, and purveying sense of impending doom make it unmistakably noir.”

    This is why I love your blog!  So many people have such a narrow idea of noir.  You’ve expanded it, which is a gift to film lovers because there can NEVER be enough noir, amiright?! 

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments, Maudie! And thank you for mentioning Karina Longworth’s podcast. I don’t remember hearing her episode on Kay Francis — I will definitely look for it!

      I totally agree with you about McMahon and McHugh in One Way Passage. I’m always cheered when they show up in the credits.

      Funny you mentioned China Seas — I just rewatched it about a week ago. I’d planned to just have it on in the background while I was writing, but I kept finding myself totally engrossed!

  4. I’ve seen the 1935 “Glass Key”. Ray Milland gets 10 mins screen time and Ann Sheridan makes an impression in one scene.

    Not comparable to the Alan Ladd version

  5. Ooh, Karen, ouch, I’m a devoted Ray Milland fan, but I will forgive the slam of RM and make another ‘noir’ recommendation – “Rogue Cop” (1954) w/ Robert Taylor, Janet Leigh, George Raft, Anne Francis & a fine supporting cast, incl your fave, Vince Edwards. It’s an intense film that really pulls in the viewer. R. Taylor gives a powerful performance. 🎬😎

    • I love Rogue Cop! And in Ray’s defense, I thought he was great in So Evil My Love. Have you seen that? Also, I thought he was perfect in Dial M for Murder. And first-rate in the Lost Weekend! (Hey, maybe I like him more than I thought I did . . . LOL)

      • Haha, maybe you do! (I’ve had that thought w/ certain actors, too). Yes, “So Evil…” is very compelling. Not sure if I mentioned “Alias Nick Beal” before (w/ RM, Audrey Totter, Thomas Mitchell, et al) – also from ’48 but set in ‘modern day’ & very chilling. 🎬😎

Leave a comment