The 2016 Turner Classic Movies Film Festival: Even More Adventures in Paradise – Part I

It was the best of times, it was the best of times.

Again.

The 2016 Turner Classic Movies Film Festival in Hollywood, California, was the bomb dot com. The bomb diggity. It was off the chain. Off the hook. Off the heezy. For sheezy.

If you know what I mean.

This year marked my fourth time attending the fest with my friend and neighbor, Kim, and, as usual, TCM did not disappoint, serving up four fun-filled days of movies, celebrities, and friends. Now that another fest is behind me, and while I’m still basking in my post-festival glow, I hope you’ll come along with me during the next few days and weeks as I recall, reflect, recap, and relive!

My first official event of the festival was the “So You Think You Know Movies?” trivia contest, hosted by Bruce Goldstein of New York’s Film Forum. Unfortunately, as in the previous years when Kim and I participated in the contest, we didn’t make it onto a team and didn’t even receive a ballot. (Boo.) Still, it was great fun playing along and it was exciting to see several special guests in the audience – this year’s crowd included actor James Karen, who has appeared in such films as The China Syndrome (1979), and Mulholland Drive (2001); Illeana Douglas, actress, author and granddaughter of Melvin Douglas; Ann Robinson, who appeared in the film version of Dragnet (1954); Suzanne Lloyd Hayes, granddaughter of silent actor Harold Lloyd; and Tony Nicholas, son of dancer extraordinaire Fayard Nicholas, one half of The Nicholas Brothers.

Bruce Goldstein hosted the trivia contest with panache.

Bruce Goldstein hosted the trivia contest with panache.

As always, this year’s contest questions were really (REALLY) hard – for me, at least. I only knew the answers to three of the questions. (Which is one better than last year! Woot!) Maybe you can do better! Here are the questions to the entire 13-question contest. The answers will be listed at the bottom of the post.

Good luck! I’ll be back soon with photos from my next event – the Red Carpet!!

Questions to the “So You Think You Know the Movies” Contest – 2016 Edition

  1. Who played Norman Bates’s jailer in Psycho (1960)?
  2. Which of the Little Rascals appeared in It’s a Wonderful Life (1939)?
  3. What actor or actress introduced Cole Porter’s song, “Easy to Love”?
  4. In Sunset Boulevard (1950), who played The Waxworks?

    What's the film that featured the actress who inspired Olive's voice?

    What’s the film that featured the actress who inspired Olive’s voice?

  5. The voice of Olive Oyl in the Popeye cartoons was inspired by an actress who appeared in what film?
  6. How many live-action Frankenstein movies did Boris Karloff appear in?
  7. James Karen did not appear in which of the following movies: Friday the 13th, Poltergeist, Return of the Living Dead, Return of the Living Dead 2, or Frankenstein Meets the Space Monster.
  8. Fayard Nicholas named his baby brother after which silent film star?
  9. Who was Greta Garbo’s first leading man in Hollywood?
  10. Who was the first actor to play Superman?
  11. Who was the first actor to play Batman?
  12. What comic book hero was modeled after Fred MacMurray?
  13. Who was Gene Barry’s leading lady in War of the Worlds (1953)?

The answers to the contest can be found below . . .

No peeking . . .

And no fair looking up the answers on the World Wide Web!!!!

Ready?

Here goes!

Answers to So You Think You Know Movies?

  1. Ted Knight
  2. Carl “Alfalfa” Switzer
  3. James Stewart in the 1936 movie Born to Dance
  4. Anna Q. Nilsson, Buster Keaton, and H.B. Warner
  5. Greed. The actress is Zasu Pitts.

    The captains of the two winning teams!

    The captains of the two winning teams!

  6. Five
  7. Friday the 13th
  8. Harold Lloyd
  9. Ricardo Cortez
  10. Bud Collyer (played Superman on the radio)
  11. Lewis Wilson (played Batman in the 1943 film serial)
  12. Captain Marvel
  13. Ann Robinson

How’d you do???

(Stay tuned for more adventures from the 2016 TCM Film Festival!)

~ by shadowsandsatin on May 4, 2016.

7 Responses to “The 2016 Turner Classic Movies Film Festival: Even More Adventures in Paradise – Part I”

  1. I got three also – the horror ones. The Boris question was a little tricky because I wasn’t sure whether they would count “House of Frankenstein” (which is a Monster Mash, not a “Frankenstein” movie) or “Frankenstein 1970” (which is not part of the official series). James Karen I know well because he used to be the voice of Pathmark, my local food store chain. And Ann Robinson drones on with a fading memory on the DVD of “War of the Worlds” in what may be the worst audio commentary of all time.

    • It’s always a pleasure to see James Karen at the fest — but I would never have guessed he was in a movie called Frankenstein Meets the Space Monster! LOL

  2. Our team got about half right -apparently we aren’t up on superheroes!

  3. These were really hard! I’m embarrassed to tell you how many I got right.

    Also, I didn’t know Captain Marvel was modelled on Fred MacMurray. I like that.

    • Don’t be embarrassed! I always feel like an old movie know-it-all in my real life, but when I get to the TCM trivia quiz, I realize how much I DON’T know! LOL

  4. […] Click here to read about the super hard questions for the ‘So You Think You Know Movies’ trivia contest. […]

Leave a comment