Day 21 of Noirvember: The Gaudier the Patter

"I don't think I'll have to kill her."

“I don’t think I’ll have to kill her.”

What time is it? Time for another look at some of those great noir lines! Enjoy!

“I don’t think I’ll have to kill her. Just slap that pretty face into hamburger meat, that’s all.” Sterling Hayden in The Killing (1956)

“For a nickel, I’d grab him. Stick both thumbs right in his eyes. Hang on ‘til he dropped dead.” Richard Widmark in Kiss of Death (1947)

“You’d sell your own mother if she was worth anything.” John Garfield in The Breaking Point (1950)

“Do you look down on all women? Or just the ones you know?” Gloria Grahame in In a Lonely Place (1950)

“Nobody’s your pal now. You’re dead. Lay down.” John Kellogg in Johnny O’Clock (1947)

"You're surrounded by dopes."

“You’re surrounded by dopes.”

“For a charming, intelligent girl, you certainly surrounded yourself with a remarkable collection of dopes.” Dana Andrews in Laura (1944)

“First is first and second is nobody.” Richard Conte in The Big Combo (1955)

“Never underestimate a man because you don’t like him.” Everett Sloane in The Big Knife (1955)

“If this were fiction, I would fall in love with Vera, marry her, and make a respectable woman out of her. Or else she’d make some supreme, class A sacrifice for me – and die.” Tom Neal in Detour (1945)

Join me tomorrow for Day 22 of Noirvember!

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 21, 2014.

6 Responses to “Day 21 of Noirvember: The Gaudier the Patter”

  1. “For a charming, intelligent girl, you certainly surrounded yourself with a remarkable collection of dopes.” Dana Andrews in Laura (1944)I

  2. “For a charming, intelligent girl, you certainly surrounded yourself with a remarkable collection of dopes.” Dana Andrews in Laura (1944) has long been one of my favorite lines, and LAURA is one if my absolute favorites! Karen,we of Team Bartilucci wish you and yours have a wonderful weekend!😀

  3. Love those quotes. Noir had the best.
    I’ll be sorry when NOIRVEMBER ends.

  4. I want to shine on a tough guy comment but the one from Gloria is a beauty.

  5. Priceless! Someday, somehow in my real, every day life, I want to say: “Imagine you needing ice.” (Lady in the Lake).

    • Oh, the LADY IN THE LAKE line, “Imagine you needing ice cube” has also been one of my faves, too! LADY IN THE LAKE is a little on the screwy side at times, but that’s one of the things I enjoy about it! And BRAVO for star/actor/producer for its arresting (no pun intented; well, maybe a little :-D)! Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

 
