Happy Blogiversary to Me — 6.0!!!

Whoever said that time flies when you’re having fun wasn’t just whistling Dixie.

And I oughta know. It’s been six whole years since I started this blog – and it seems like it was yesterday! (Or maybe last week.)

Shadows and Satin continues to be one of the joys of my life, providing me with an ideal outlet for exercising my two greatest passions – writing and classic film. And I extend a heartfelt thank to each of you for coming along for the ride – you are the collective cat’s pajamas. Or meow, as the case may be.

Special thanks, as always, to my pal Senior Writer of The Dark Pages, and Pre-Code Crazy partner in crime, Kristina, of the fabulous Speakeasy blog, for encouraging me to embark on this adventure. I’ll be forever grateful.

And as has become my blogiversary tradition, I leave you with a quote from one of my favorite actresses – this year, my girl Norma Shearer gets the nod. Here she is in that first-rate pre-Code feature, A Free Soul (1931):

“I don’t quite know what’s happened. Whether its just the end of a perfect day . . . or whether I’m just a little mad.”

(And you’ve never seen this gem, do yourself a favor and check it out! You won’t be sorry.)

 

 

~ by shadowsandsatin on June 23, 2017.

11 Responses to “Happy Blogiversary to Me — 6.0!!!”

  1. Huge congratulations, Karen! It’s not just the six years, it’s the consistent high quality. Well done!

  2. Happy Blogaversary !!!!

  3. Happy blogiversary, keep on blogging!

  4. Congrats! Your blog is amazing, and your passion for the classics is evident.

  5. Yay I love this holiday! Of all the things I’ve been blamed for this has to be the best! 😀 as is my custom on this day I shall toast you–a fine friend with a fine blog– with some red wine!! Happy Blogiversary and many more!
    🍸

  6. Happy Blogiversary! If it doesn’t sound too convoluted, it brightens my day to spend time in the shadows with you.

Leave a Reply

 
