Day 28 of Noirvember: Characters I Hate to Love – Bruno Antony

I hate to love Bruno, but I do!

I hate to love Bruno, but I do!

Strangers on a Train (1951), masterfully directed by Alfred Hitchcock, tells the story of two men who meet by happenstance on a train, and wind up wholly intertwined in each other’s lives. Especially after one of them murders the wife of the other. The film contains one of my favorite noir characters, Bruno Antony, played to absolute perfection by Robert Walker. Bruno is a murderer and a sociopath, if not worse, and I know I should hate him for these qualities, but I just can’t. He’s completely riveting, full of intelligence, cunning, and a wicked sense of humor.

He’s also got some great lines – check out a few:

“My theory is that everyone is a potential murderer.”

“Everyone has somebody that they want to put out of the way. Oh now surely, Madam, you’re not going to tell me that there hasn’t been a time that you didn’t want to dispose of someone. Your husband, for instance?”

“Don’t worry, I’m not going to shoot you, Mr. Haines. It might disturb Mother.”

“I have a theory that you should do everything before you die.”

Strangers airs on TCM on November 29th – don’t let this train pass you by!

And join me tomorrow for Day 29 of Noirvember!

 

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 28, 2016.

2 Responses to “Day 28 of Noirvember: Characters I Hate to Love – Bruno Antony”

  1. Bruno’s disdain for just about everybody and everything is oddly attractive. It is delightfully creepy to watch Robert Walker’s genius at work.

Leave a Reply

 
