Day 25 of Noirvember: What’s in a Name?

Happy birthday, John Stevens.

Born John Daugherty Stephens on today’s date in 1919, Steve Brodie took his screen name from the real-life New York saloon keeper who claimed to have survived an 1886 leap into the East River from the Brooklyn Bridge. The name change helped to jumpstart his fledgling acting career.

“I couldn’t get arrested in New York. Then I got an idea: why not come up with a name that people will remember and possibly even want to exploit?” Brodie once explained. “The next time I went to a tryout, I told the fella taking names that I was Steve Brodie. ‘Are you any relation to the guy who jumped off the Brooklyn Bridge?’  ‘Yes,’ I answered. ‘He was my uncle. We’re both considered the black sheep of the family.’ And the following morning I received a phone call telling me I had the job.”

See Brodie in Crossfire (1947), Out of the Past (1947), Desperate (1947), Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye (1950), Armored Car Robbery (1950), and M (1951).

And join me tomorrow on Day 26 of Noirvember!

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 25, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
