Day 14 of Noirvember: In Remembrance of La Lake

Constance Frances Marie Ockelman — known to the world as Veronica Lake — was born on November 14, 1922.

We remember her today.

ssveronica9

“I never did cheesecake. I just used my hair.”

“I think I’ve developed into an actress because I’ve worked darn hard at it and I’ve learned a great deal from a lot of gifted people. And if I have nothing else to show for my life, apart from a scrapbook full of cuttings, I have the knowledge that my early days in Hollywood weren’t in vain.”

“I’ve reached a point in my life where it’s the little things that matter… I was always a rebel and probably could have got much farther had I changed my attitude. But when you think about it, I got pretty far without changing attitudes. I’m happier with that.”

“There’s no doubt I was a bit of a misfit in the Hollywood of the forties. The race for glamour left me far behind. I didn’t really want to keep up. I wanted my stardom without the usual trimmings. Because of this, I was branded a rebel at the very least. But I don’t regret that for a minute. My appetite was my own and I simply wouldn’t have it any other way.”

Join me tomorrow for Day 15 of Noirvember!

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 14, 2016.

4 Responses to “Day 14 of Noirvember: In Remembrance of La Lake”

  1. Karen, this is so much fun! Having a great time reading about and watching these great films. Hope your holidays are happy. Dail

    ________________________________

  2. My mother must have been a Veronica Lake fan because as a child, I had long blonde wavy hair and she used to style it like hers. Yep, wave over the eye and all! LOL!

Leave a Reply

 
