Day Nine of Noirvember: The Noirs I Watch Over and Over

Mildred Pierce. Can't get enough.

Mildred Pierce. Can’t get enough.

If you’re anything like me, there are a number of films noirs that you’ve seen over and over (and over)!

In today’s Noirvember post, I’m sharing the noirs that I simply can’t get enough of, the ones where I can quote the dialogue along with the characters, the ones that I just have to watch to the end whenever I come across them on the TV.

Not surprisingly, many of these films are on my Top 10 noir list (which, incidentally, has changed a bit since I created it four years ago – but that’s a post for another day). Here’s my list:

Mildred Pierce (1945)

The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946)

Double Indemnity (1944)

Gun Crazy. Can't get enough.

Gun Crazy. Can’t get enough.

Gun Crazy (1949)

Out of the Past (1947)

The Killing (1956)

The Big Heat (1953)

Criss Cross (1949)

Laura (1944)

The Big Combo (1955)

The Strange Love of Martha Ivers (1946)

Sunset Boulevard (1950)

What noirs do you watch over and over? Please share with the group!

And join me tomorrow for Day 10 of Noirvember!

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 9, 2016.

16 Responses to “Day Nine of Noirvember: The Noirs I Watch Over and Over”

  1. Big Combo
    Key Largo
    Big Sleep
    M
    It Always Rains on Sunday
    Gilda

  2. Aside from most of those you mention and Salome’s selection, Too Late for Tears is the first one that springs to mind. Scarlet Street. The Blue Dahlia (plus anything else with Veronica Lake, especially the non-noir I Married a Witch). And . . .

    I’d better stop or I’ll be here all night!

  3. DOA

  4. The Lady from Shanghai (1949)
    Night and the City (1950)
    In a Lonely Place (1950)
    Angel Face (1953)
    Touch of Evil (1958)

  5. Boy…you and me need to be BFF because most of the ones you named here I have seen and love. My favorites are Double Indemnity and Sunset Blvd.

  6. It seems that we all share a lot in common—folks have already added “Gilda”, “Scarlet Street”, and “Too Late for Tears”, so I’ll add “The Glass Key”, “The Maltese Falcon”, “The Asphalt Jungle, and ” “The Killers” to the list!

Leave a Reply

 
