Happy Blogiversary to Me — 5.0!

“My formula for living is quite simple: I get up in the morning and I go to bed at night. In between, I occupy myself as best I can.”

I love this concept from Cary Grant – talk about words to live by! I’ve decided to adopt it as my own motto, and one of the ways I “occupy myself as best I can” is through this blog, which I started five years ago today. It’s become one of the great pleasures of my life, not just because it gives me an outlet for two of my favorite things – writing and classic movies – but also because it’s introduced me to a whole community of awesome people who I’d never otherwise gotten a chance to know.

As always at this time of the year, I’m tipping my hat to my friend, fellow blogger, and Dark Pages Senior Writer, Kristina over at Speakeasy, for giving me the nudge I needed to start my own blog. I’m also honored to offer my heartfelt appreciation to anyone who’s ever read anything I’ve ever written here. Y’all are the starch in my collar and the lace in my shoe. Not to mention the cream in my coffee.

To celebrate my five-year blogiversary, I’m continuing my annual tradition by leaving you with a film quote from one of my favorite actresses – this year’s is from the incomparable Barbara Stanwyck and my favorite film noir, Double Indemnity (1944). If you’ve never seen it, or it’s been a while since you’ve given it a re-watch, why not treat yourself to some shadowy, Stanwyckian deception today?

You only owe it to yourself, ya know.

“The tough part is all behind us. We just have to hold on now and not go soft inside. Stick close together the way we started out . . . I loved you, Walter, and I hated him. But I wasn’t going to do anything about it. Not until I met you. You planned the whole thing. I only wanted him dead. And nobody’s pulling out. We went into this together and we’re coming out at the end together. It’s straight down the line for both of us. Remember?” – Phyllis Dietrichson (Barbara Stanwyck)

~ by shadowsandsatin on June 23, 2016.

11 Responses to “Happy Blogiversary to Me — 5.0!”

  1. Congrats on the milestone!

  2. Happy Anniversary!

  3. Woo hoo. Congrats Karen!

  4. Congrats! Love your blog.

  5. Congratulations on reaching this.

  6. And as always at this time I say thanks and raise a glass of your fave beverage to toast a great friend with a great blog! 🙂 Happy Anniversary!

  7. Happy Blogiversary! Here’s to many more years of blogging fun.

  8. Happy 5 O !!!

  9. Congratulations on your anniversary, Karen! I am really enjoying your blog and learning a lot! Hope work and all else is going well. Dail

  10. Great quote – love that scene in Double Indemnity, especially the chilling way Stanwyck says “ReMEMber?”

    Happy 5th Blogaversary, you!

Leave a Reply

 
