23 Responses to “The “Try It, You’ll Like It” Blogathon: Too Late for Tears (1949)”

  1. I’m very fond of this one, too. As you say, Scott owns it — in my case to the extent that it’s easy to forget Duryea’s in it too.

  2. Great choice for the blogathon – one I would never have thought of. Great casting and a script with loads of tension. In fact, you’ve made me want to watch this one (yet) again! 🙂

  3. I love noir, but I’m not familiar with this film. I need to add it to my queue. Thanks for the recommendation.

  4. Super choice, how could anyone not like this? The good old days when there were such amazing roles for women!

  5. My eyes were opened to this one earlier this year as a challenge from Kristina and it was sooooo good and Liz so evil! Loved it.

  6. Ah, once again Dan Duryea has used his unique appeal on a young lady. In a million years (no exaggeration) I don’t think I would have come up with this as a gateway film, but your experience and writing has convinced me.

    I’ve shown the hubby “Criss Cross” twice in a span of twenty years and he fell asleep both times! Go figure.

  7. Thanks so much for joining in! Yes, a simpler noir is sometimes the best bet with a beginner– especially when it boasts of such a compelling performance!

  8. […] I’ve actually got this movie sitting next to my DVD player right now–and I’ll probably watch it tonight, thanks to Shadow and Satin’s great review of Too Late For Tears (1949). […]

  9. I saw this film recently, and it really stood with me, days and weeks after viewing. It’s a powerful, unpredictable movie, with a marvelous performance by Lizabeth Scott. I’m glad your daughter liked it – as you said, it was a surprise, but great to know Too Late for Tears is a nice point of start in the noir world.
    Don’t forget to read my contribution to the blogathon! 🙂
    Cheers!
    Le
    http://www.criticaretro.blogspot.com

  10. I have never seen this one. It sounds like an excellent introduction to film noir. I have heard other people agree with your daughter that the flashbacks within flashbacks within flashbacks in some film noir can induce headaches.

  11. Hi 😀 Just wanted to tell you that I’ve nominated your blog for a Liebster award! You can see the post on my blog!

  12. I got to see the movie a few weeks ago when it played on TCM. You were right. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

 
