Day 6 of Noirvember: Remembering Tierney

Like many a Hollywood glamour girl, Gene Tierney was beloved by fans and praised by critics more for her radiant green eyes and luminescent skin than for her dramatic talents. But no amount of glamour could cloak Tierney’s failed marriages, the tragedy of her first-born daughter, and the mental illness that threatened to overpower her life. It was only Tierney’s inner strength that allowed her to rise above her adversities and emerge on the other side.

Tierney was a mesmerizing presence in a variety of successful films and made a striking impact in five films noirs: The Shanghai Gesture (1941), Laura (1944), Leave Her to Heaven (1945), Night and the City (1950), and Where the Sidewalk Ends (1950). On November 6, 1991 – 24 years ago today – Tierney passed away at her home in Houston at the age of 70. In celebration of her life, I’m shining the spotlight on this unforgettable actress – in her own words.

“Everyone should see Hollywood once, I think, through the eyes of a teenage girl who has just passed a screen test.”

“I do not recall spending long hours in front of a mirror loving my reflection.”

SSGene25“I simply did not want my face to be my talent.”

“I dated dozens of young men, had fun with all, made commitments to none.”

“I approached everything – my job, my family, my romances – with intensity.”

“Eccentric behavior is not routinely noticed around a movie set.”

“It was the fashion of the time – still is – to feel that all actors are neurotic, or they would not be actors.”

“Wealth, beauty, and fame are transient. When those are gone, little is left except the need to be useful.”

“I knew I could not cope with the future unless I was able to rediscover the past.”

“I have a role now that I think becomes me. I am a grandmother.”

RIP, Gene. We remember you.

And join me tomorrow for Day 7 of Noirvember!

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 7, 2015.

7 Responses to “Day 6 of Noirvember: Remembering Tierney”

  1. What wonderful reflections on life, and terrific photos.

  2. She was definitely a beauty! I just recently rewatched “Laura.” Love that movie! 🙂

  3. I’ve always had such mixed feelings about Tierney. She’s gorgeous and plays the good woman well in many a noir. And I loved Ghost and Mrs. Muir. But I felt she was underused, deserved stronger roles. When I saw her in Shanghai Gesture I began to feel perhaps she didn’t have the chops for deeper or stronger roles. The quote about being “useful” is telling; while I agree, I also value intellect and the world of the mind more than she may have. When she is most happy being grandma, I realize how truly different we are,

    Thanks for sharing this engaging post.

Leave a Reply

 
