Rest in Peace, Lizabeth Scott.

Lizabeth Scott: 1922-2015

Lizabeth Scott: 1922-2015

It is with a heavy heart that I share that Lizabeth Scott passed on January 31, 2015, at the age of 92.

Born Emma Matzo in Scranton, Pennsylvania, the future star was raised in a home fairly brimming with culture, but she was frequently rebellious and outspoken: “As a child, my mother used to tell me to keep my emotions subdued, to be ‘a lady,’” she once said. “Instead of which I was a noisy, screaming little brat, definitely about everything.”

With her tawny hair, husky voice, and ice-blue eyes, Scott was one of film noir’s quintessential femmes and had numerous noirs to her credit, including The Strange Love of Martha Ivers, Too Late for Tears, Dead Reckoning and Pitfall.

She will be missed.

~ by shadowsandsatin on February 6, 2015.

12 Responses to “Rest in Peace, Lizabeth Scott.”

  1. Really upset by this news. She was right there at the top.

  2. What a shock. Your post was the first I had read about Lizabeth. I wasn’t aware she was ill. Very sad news.

  3. I liked her. RIP Lizabeth.

  4. What sad news. She was one of the more beautiful and memorable actresses from the world of film noir, and she’ll be missed.

  5. She had a voice for the ages. RIP Lizabeth Scott.

  6. These are the times that try fans’ souls. She was great. I enjoyed her work. Her passing hits hard. I kept envisioning TCM bringing her to the TCMFF. RIP. She was truly unique. Film noir’s poster girl. Sad news.

Leave a Reply

 
