Happy Noirvember! Day One: Ten of My Favorite Noir Quotes

Johnny Eager helps me kick off Noirvember with some hard-boiled patter.

Johnny Eager helps me kick off Noirvember with some hard-boiled patter.

What’s Noirvember? It’s a month-long celebration of all things noir, started by Marya over at Cinema-Fanatic.com. This is my first year participating, so strap yourselves in and get ready for 30 days of noir – from reviews to bios to trivia tidbits, and anything else noir-related that I can come up with!

For my inaugural Noirvember post, I’m offering up 10 of my favorite quotes from the film noir period, spoken by characters who seem to be unusually in tune with themselves – what Abraham Maslow would refer to as “self-actualization,” and others might simply call “getting wise to yourself.” Enjoy!

"I like to have the say-so myself."

“I like to have the say-so myself.”

“I don’t like gambling very much. I don’t like being at the mercy of those little white squares that roll around and decide whether you win or lose. I like to have the say-so myself.” Lawrence Tierney in Born to Kill (1947)

“Sure, the suckers all give me sour looks. The minute they stop I’m worried, see, because then I know I’m not on my toes. And that’s where I’m stayin’. Ready to hit the first guy that’s fool enough to cross me in the first place.” Robert Taylor in Johnny Eager (1942)

He'll bite a dog if he has to. He will!

He’ll bite a dog if he has to. He will!

I know newspapers backwards, forwards, and sideways. I can write ‘em, edit ‘em, print ‘em, wrap ‘em and sell ‘em. I can handle big news and little news. If there’s no news, I’ll go out and bite a dog.” Kirk Douglas in Ace in the Hole (1951)

“Matrimony is a state I don’t recognize. It’s not love – it’s pots and pans and a conversational fistfight every Saturday night, with a paycheck as the purse.” Howard Duff in Shakedown (1950)

“For 16 years I’ve been a cop – for 16 years I’ve been living in dirt and take it from me, some of it’s bound to rub off on you. You get to hate people. Everyone you meet.” Edmond O’Brien in Shield for Murder (1954)

“I never confuse business with sentiment. Unless it’s extremely profitable, of course. ” Clifton Webb in The Dark Corner (1946)

So, he wouldn't toss a dame from a car? Gloria Grahame isn't convinced.

So, he wouldn’t toss a dame from a car? Gloria Grahame isn’t convinced.

“I assure you I could never throw a lovely body from a moving car. My artistic temperament wouldn’t permit it. ” Humphrey Bogart in In a Lonely Place (1950)

“I’m not a violent man. As a matter of fact, I hate violence. But there are times when the most peace-loving simply must do it. And this may be one of them. ” Peter Lorre in The Mask of Dimitrios (1944)

He doesn't trust a man who's not out for himself. Nope.

He doesn’t trust a man who’s not out for himself. Nope.

“I do like a man who tells you right out that’s he’s looking out for himself. Don’t we all? I don’t trust a man who says he’s not. ” Sydney Greenstreet in The Maltese Falcon (1941)

“Nothing kills me. I’ll die in Stockholm like my great-grandfather, age 93. I’m not scared of anyone  – including you. ” John Hoyt in The Big Combo (1955)

Join me tomorrow for Day Two of Noirvember!

~ by shadowsandsatin on November 1, 2014.

2 Responses to “Happy Noirvember! Day One: Ten of My Favorite Noir Quotes”

  1. I wouldn’t trust these guys and dames any farther than I could throw them,, but they sure have great hard-boiled dialogue! THE MALTESE FALCOM is one of my absolute favorites! Looking forward to the next one!😀

  2. “Matrimony is a state I don’t recognize. It’s not love – it’s pots and pans and a conversational fistfight every Saturday night, with a paycheck as the purse.” Howard Duff in Shakedown (1950)

    …and this is precisely why I refuse to ever get married😛

Leave a Reply

 
