Yippee! It’s a Versatile Blogger Award!

Hey, guess what, kids? I’ve been nominated for the coveted Versatile Blogger Award! I am practically walking on air!

For nominating me for this prestigious honor, I offer my humble thanks to Kellee over at Outspoken and Freckled, whom I first met in the Twitterverse and then in real life at this year’s Turner Classic Movies Film Festival. She was even more of a delight in person as she’d been on the World Wide Web, and meeting her was one of the highlights of my experience this year. Do yourself a favor and pay a visit to her blog – you only owe it to yourself!

In order to accept a nomination for a Versatile Blogger Award, the following is required:

  1. Thank your nominator and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Make your own 15 nominations and tell them they have been nominated.
  3. Offer up seven interesting facts about yourself.

In the words of Tracy Lord from The Philadelphia Story, “Oh, we’re going to talk about me, are we? Goody.” Seven interesting facts about me? Well, I don’t know how interesting they are, but here goes:

Me and Tito Jackson. TITO. JACKSON.

Me and Tito Jackson. TITO. JACKSON.

  1. I am a diehard Jackson 5 fan, to my very soul, ‘til the end of time. I even have a shrine to Michael in my basement. A few weeks ago, one of my BFs and I drove to Mt. Pleasant, Michigan, to see the Jacksons perform, and by divine intervention complete chance, we got to meet both Tito and Jermaine Jackson and take pictures with them before they left for the airport. (Be still, my teeny bopper heart.)
  1. I have always wanted to be a writer. I wrote my first short story when I was five years old, sitting on the living room floor in my grandmother’s house in Winchester, Kentucky. It was called The Richer Family, and it told the sad story of a rich family whose money couldn’t save them from tragedy. It was kinda noirish, now that I think of it.

    The Caribbean Room.

  1. I used to be completely obsessed with Johnny Depp. It started when I watched Pirates of the Caribbean during my annual watch-as-many-Oscar-nominated-movies-as-I-can-before-the-Oscars quest. Once I saw his Captain Jack sashay across the screen, I was a goner. I proceeded to buy – and watch – every Johnny Depp movie I could get my hands on (even clunkers like Private Resort, for cryin’ out loud). I put framed photos of him in my room. I transformed my library at home into the Caribbean Room, complete with signed pictures, Captain Jack action figures, switchplates, magnets, lamps, books – you name it, chances are it’s in that room. I had a shirt specially made that said “Mrs. Depp” on the front and “In my dreams” on the back. I was practically ill when my personal email to Oprah failed to result in a ticket to her show when he made an appearance. I bought every magazine I could find that had Johnny Depp on the cover (16, to be exact). I created a scrapbook full of newspaper and magazine clippings, as well as hundreds (upon hundreds) of pictures of him that I’d printed from the internet. (It’s really quite impressive, if I do say so myself. It weighs 14 pounds!) My daughters and I celebrated his birthday, singing to his photo and blowing out a candle we’d stuck in a Snickers bar. I told my boss I was sick so I could leave work and see Secret Window on the day of its release. I briefly considered getting a tattoo of the number 3 on my hand because he has one. It was RIDICULOUS. (But fun!) And, thank goodness, I eventually got over it and moved on to a similar, but not nearly as nutty, obsession for William Holden.

    Drive. Stop. Buy. Love it.

    Drive. Stop. Buy. Love it.

  2. Every year, my friend and I (the BF mentioned in Fact Number One) take a road trip for the World’s Longest Yard Sale. It starts in Addison, Michigan, and extends down Route 127 through Ohio, Kentucky, and Tennessee, ending up in Gadsen, Alabama. Along the route, and in the little towns and villages along the way, you can find all kinds of yard sales, flea markets, and garage sales – you just drive and stop and buy. Drive and stop and buy. This will be our fourth time going to the sale – we always start out where we ended the year before, so this time we’ll be joining the sale in Florence, Kentucky. Over the years, I’ve brought home all kinds of goodies – a vintage vacuum cleaner (for three dollars!), a complete set of dishes, cookbooks, old movie magazines, dolls, vintage purses, a leather coat (for a dollar!), lamps, vintage radios, handmade soaps, jewelry, artwork, even a VHS box set of The Thornbirds (because of course, I still use my VCR every day) – quite literally a van full of stuff, every time. It’s a blast.
  1. My very first paying job was handing out leaflets advertising the Evelyn Woods Speed Reading Course. It was a humbling experience. I can’t tell you how many people walked right past me as if I weren’t there, or who took the paper from me, crumpled it up, and let it fall to the ground seconds later. Because of that experience (and that was almost 35 years ago), I always take flyers from people passing them out, and give them a smile and a grateful “thank you.” I know just how they feel!
  1. I love to paint – rooms, that is, not portraits. I have painted practically every room in my entire house, from the upstairs bathroom to the laundry room in the basement, and every wall in between. I started with the kitchen, around 15 years ago – I don’t know what made me start doing it, other than I hated the wallpaper that was on the walls and I was too broke cheap to hire somebody. None of the walls are just one color, though – the kitchen, for instance, has teal green paint sponged over white. The bathroom is yellow with tan polka dots. The living room is red and gold. And my favorite, my bedroom, has pink, mauve, and tan stripes. Here are the before and after pictures from my bedroom.
    Before.

    Before.

    After.

    After.

  1. I appeared on two episodes of an old E! TV network series called Mysteries and Scandals. Hosted by the uber-cool A.J. Benza, every half-hour episode focused on an actor or actress from the Golden Age of Hollywood who’d been involved in some kind of… well… mystery or scandal. I appeared in the episodes about Gail Russell and Gloria Grahame. For the Russell episode, which was the first one I did, I was flown out to L.A. and interviewed at the E! Studios. I was SCARED. TO. DEATH. In fact, I initially had no intention of even going – but I knew I’d regret it forever if I didn’t. So I screwed my courage to the sticking place and took the plunge. And I’m so glad I did it.  I remember when the episode first aired, I had a “viewing party” with my daughters, who were 2 and 5 years old at the time. They couldn’t have cared less. I’m all, “Look, there’s Mommy!” and they’re all, “Can I have another cookie?” (If you’re interested, the Russell episode can be seen here.)

And now, for the final piece of the Versatile Blogger pie, I am pleased to nominate the following blogs, authored by some of the most talented writers this side of the Pecos. Check ‘em out!

Speakeasy

She Blogged By Night

Thrilling Days of Yesteryear

Mildred’s Fatburgers

Stardust

Grand Old Movies

Virtual Virago

Mike’s Take on the Movies

Twenty-Four Frames

Hardboiled Girl

Cinematically Insane

True Classics

The Last Drive-In

1001 Movies I (Apparently) Must See Before I Die

Another Old Movie Blog

Thanks for stopping by and sharing my Versatile Blogger Award with me!

~ by shadowsandsatin on July 5, 2014.

21 Responses to “Yippee! It’s a Versatile Blogger Award!”

  1. Congratulations, I hope you win, you merit it.

  2. Congrats on your well deserved award, Karen. I love that photo of you and Tito Jackson.

    Also, I had no idea you were a TV celebrity! However, I am not at all surprised. Perhaps you can hire me as a consultant when you get our own series?

    Thanks for sharing these facts about yourself. You truly are a Renaissance Woman.🙂

    • You are a sweetheart, Ruth! Wouldn’t that be something if some of us classic movie lovers could get together and produce a show? I remember a series narrated by Tom Bosley in the late 1970s/early 1980s called ‘That’s Hollywood.” It was so fascinating to me — and there’s nothing like it on TV anymore. Hmmm…

  3. Congratulations! I’m glad to see you have many other obsessions and such interesting ones.

  4. Congrats, and thank you so much for including me! I love these factoids🙂 you have a great many interests and talents. The World’s Longest Yard sale sounds so amazing! I need to attend that someday. best!

  5. Karen, all of us here at Team Bartilucci HQ are delighted for your Versatile Blogger Award! You richly deserve your award, my friend, and heartiest congratulations!😀

  6. Thanks for the nomination, and congratulations on your award & your blog. Fun factoids.

  7. Karen! Congratulations on getting the Versatile Blogger Award– much deserved honor. I would love to read your first story… of course it had a noir sensibility to it. (chuckle) I remember watching Mysteries and Scandals back when we had cable. What an interesting little cameo–And so glad you switched your obsession from Mr Depp to Bill Holden. Cheers from your pal at the Last Drive In–Joey!

  8. Congratulations, Karen! Thank you so much for the nod. I love your blog (as you know) so your recommendation is especially delightful. Now I’ll be saying “Goody” in that Hepburn voice all day.

  9. Thanks again for the nomination, and that’s so cool about Mysteries and Scandals! I’m pretty obsessed with that show and have seen most of the episodes multiple times, I’ll definitely re-watch your episodes!

  10. Congrats Karen…keeping my fingers cross you’ll win. I didn’t know you were from Michigan…I grew up in Kalamazoo and lived in Ann Arbor for awhile.

    • Thanks so much, Charles. And I’m not from Michigan, but my first “real” job (outside of the one-day Evelyn Wood experience) was at the Oakland Press newspaper in Pontiac, Michigan. I lived there for about a year and a half. And my first interview for reporter was in Kalamazoo!

  11. Congratulations, i wish you will make it to the next level.

Leave a Reply

 
