Happy Blogiversary to Me!

One year ago today, I hit the “Publish” button on this site and, voila!  With that, Shadows and Satin joined the blogiverse, providing me with a forum for sharing my thoughts about one of my life’s passions — classic film. Boy, time sure flies when you’re having fun!

I want to take this opportunity to thank the Senior Writer of The Dark Pages, my pal Kristina over at Speakeasy, who first suggested that I start a blog, as well as express my appreciation to the many awesome veteran bloggers who have served as my inspiration over the last year, and offer my most sincere gratitude for all of you who took the time to read my words. Having this blog has been a joy, and I hope that it’s around for a long time to come.

To celebrate my one-year blogiversary, I’m serving up a nod to my very first post, which consisted of a quote from the 1947 film noir feature Kiss of Death. Today, I give you a great quote from one of my favorite actresses, Joan Crawford, from The Damned Don’t Cry (1950):

“Don’t talk to me about self-respect. Self-respect is something you tell yourself you’ve got when you’ve got nothing else. The only thing that counts is that stuff you take to the bank – that filthy buck that everybody sneers at but slugs to get.”

Don’t talk to me about self-respect. You dig?

Incidentally, if you haven’t seen this noir, make a point to check it out.

You know why.

~ by shadowsandsatin on June 23, 2012.

26 Responses to “Happy Blogiversary to Me!”

  1. Congratulations on your first blogaversary!

  2. Congrats! Here’s to many more years of blogging goodness.🙂

  3. Congrats Karen! Keep up the great work!

  4. Happy First Year!

  5. Congrats!

  6. Happy blogiversary, s&s!

  7. Happy blogiversary, Karen! Here’s to many more.

  8. Congratulations! It isn’t easy to keep a blog going, so a year is a big deal!

  9. Happy blogiversary Karen and congrats on a year of great posts! I’m so glad to have met such a nice fellow classic film blogger and discovered your awesome newsletter!🙂

  10. A very happy bloggiversary, Karen, and here’s to many, many more! Love visiting your blog on a regular basis. 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Laura

  11. Congrats on your 1st Birthday! Wishing you much success and many more years while entertaining us. : )
    Page

  12. Congratulations and Happy Blogaversary, Karen! The kudos couldn’t happen to a greater blogger! All of us here at Team Bartilucci H.Q. look forward to more SHADOWS AND SATIN for years to come!

  13. Congratulations! And I love The Damned Don’t Cry, a seedy and wonderful noir.

    • Thanks, Charles! I love The Damned Don’t Cry, too — I love Joan Crawford in just about anything, and this one not only offers a good story and interesting characters, but some really shocking scenes!

  14. whoooo! I got my party hat on! so so glad I was even a little teeny bit involved in getting you to join the blogoshpere, it’s certainly more fun with you in it! here’s to many more years and loads more writing, may it always be fun, because that’s really the whole point.
    cheers to my partner in crime!
    you have lifetime drinks on the house at the Speakeasy

  15. Congrats from Germany to your anniversary! – I’ve been a reader from Day 1. Thank you for all the great and informative articles. Always a fun to read. Looking forward to the next years. Read you soon.

Leave a Reply

 
