Frankly, My Dear . . . It’s Classic Movie Survey Time!

And now for something completely different!

By pure serendipity, I happened upon a fun survey by Rianna over at the totally delightful blog, Frankly, My Dear. I’ve thought about completing other surveys that I’ve seen, but never seemed to get around to it. But this time, I was determined (even though I really should be helping my daughter pack for her trip to Mardi Gras!!).

Of course, wherever possible, I had to make sure that my responses had at least a passing acquaintance with the eras of pre-Code or film noir – but with a couple of them, of course, it just couldn’t be done. Still, it was fun to try! I hope you enjoy reading my answers as much as I enjoyed coming up with them!

1.  Favorite classic Disney movie:

Cinderella offers a lovely story, catchy songs, a fairy godmother (and who wouldn’t want one of those?), thoroughly evil (practically noir-like) villains, and Prince Charming! 

A beautiful dress and a date with red pants. What more could you want?

2.  Favorite film from 1939:

I love so many films from this outstanding year – especially The Women, The Old Maid, Midnight, Ninotchka, Wuthering Heights, and The Wizard of Oz.  But out of all of the stellar films that were released in 1939, Gone With the Wind is my absolute favorite. (Quiet as it’s kept, it’s also my favorite all-time movie.) 

A rather film noir-like scene, wouldn't you say?

3.  Favorite Carole Lombard screwball movie role:

An easy pick – Twentieth Century is a scream. It contains hilariously over-the-top performances from both Lombard and John Barrymore, and the supporting cast is outstanding as well. If you haven’t seen this one, you simply must!

Lombard was at her best in Twentieth Century.

4.  Favorite off-screen movie couple (it’s okay if it ended in divorce!):

No question: Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall. A match made in Hollywood Heaven.

Bogie and Bacall on their wedding day. Aw.

5.  Favorite pair of best friends:

This response, interestingly, straddles both the pre-Code and film noir realms – and features two of my three favorite actresses: Joan Crawford and Barbara Stanwyck!

Babs and Joanie: the most awesome BFFs.

6.   Favorite actor with a moustache:

Warren William was suave, sophisticated, a little dangerous, and totally rocked his ‘stache.

Warren William was one cool dude.

7.  Favorite blonde actress:

Because she starred in one of my favorite noirs (and because she was gorgeous), I’m going with Lana Turner.

Lana Turner was superb as Cora in The Postman Always Rings Twice.

8.   Favorite pre-Code:

This was a toughie, since I love so many of them, but I absolutely adore The Divorcee.  (Click here to read why I’m wild about this film!)  

I love this movie.

9.   Which studio would you have liked to join?

I would love to have hung out with some of luminaries in the Warner Bros. stable, like Humphrey Bogart, Bette Davis, James Cagney, and Edward G. Robinson. Plus, Warners’ turned out a plethora of first-rate pre-Codes (like Baby Face and Employees’ Entrance) and films noirs , including one of my absolute favorites: 

Mildred Pierce!

10.  Favorite common on-screen pairing that should have gotten married: 

Alan Ladd and Veronica Lake were made for each other – attractive and sexy . . . and petite!

Ladd and Lake: Fair-haired dynamite!

11.   Favorite I Love Lucy episode:

This may have been the easiest question of the survey – the “Vitametavegamin” episode makes me laugh out loud every single time I see it. (Plus, I have a pair of Vitametavegamin pajamas. Eat your heart out.)

I dare you not to laugh.

12.  Lucille Ball, Audrey Hepburn, Katharine Hepburn, Natalie Wood, Grace Kelly, Ingrid Bergman, and Greer Garson – which one do you like the best?

No question – Katharine Hepburn.  She possessed beauty, talent, versatility – not to mention a beautiful love story with Spencer Tracy. (And she managed to fit into the film noir theme with her starring role in Undercurrent.)

Hepburn could do it all.

13.  Shadowy film noir from the 1940’s or splashy colorful musicals from the 1950’s?

Do I need to answer this?

Step into the shadows.

14.  Actor or actress with the best autograph?

John Garfield’s autograph was like the man himself: cool and classic.

John Garfield's autograph. Priceless.

15.   A baby (or childhood or teenage) photo of either your favorite actress or actor (or both, if you’d like)?

Norma Shearer was a living doll – even though I don’t know what’s going on with her head gear.

Adorable Norma.

 THE END.

~ by shadowsandsatin on February 16, 2012.

8 Responses to “Frankly, My Dear . . . It’s Classic Movie Survey Time!”

  1. It was great fun reading your responses to the survey. Rianna certainly asked some interesting questions. My favourite is discovering everyone’s favourite pre-code.

    • Thanks, Patricia! I enjoyed reading your responses, too — and was pleased to see that we shared our answers for Warren William, Katharine Hepburn, and the great Twentieth Century! (I tried to leave a response at your blog, but apparently I’m a robot after all, LOL. So I hope you see this!)

  2. Hi, nice to discover your blog! Film noir and pre-codes are two genres I’m just getting into but really enjoy. Also, I must say, I LOVE the title of your blog. “Shadows and satin”, to me, definitely defines a major part of Classic Hollywood and conjures up wonderful thoughts. Just had to tell you that!

    Thank you for participating in this survey! I loved reading your answers. Now that I know there are Vitavetavegamin pajamas, I’m going to scout out a pair (Lucille Ball is my favorite actress)! I too chose Cinderella for the first question and that photo of baby Norma is adorable. I love that big, floppy hat on her that’s twice her size.😉

    Thank you again!🙂

  3. I enjoyed your responses and totally agree with you on The Divorcee, but I have to correct you: Warners didn’t make or release Asphalt Jungle (MGM), Out of the Past (RKO) or Born to Kill (RKO). However all three were included on Warner Home Video DVDs fillm noir box sets.

    • Oh, good gravy! What was I thinking!?!?!? Apparently, I was not! (Although my gaffe did give me a prime opportunity to link back to some old posts, LOL. I should’ve known it was too good to be true!) I suppose I can excuse myself for the Asphalt Jungle boo-boo, and maybe even Born to Kill, but Out of the Past!! I KNOW that’s RKO! Jiminy crickets. Thanks for correcting me, Charles — I am going to fix this right now! 🙂

  4. This was an awesome survey! Could I do it on my blog and just give credit to Rianna?

Leave a Reply

 
